This blog sucks.

Forget the fact that it’s been exactly one year since I’ve posted. Even though old content is one of the worst things you can do to a blog, that’s not why this blog sucks.

It sucks because it’s not me. Not entirely. The photo posts? Yep, that’s me. That’s what’s on my mind and a photo doesn’t ramble. Those longer posts that go on and on, pontificating? They’re downright awful.

I’ve learned over the past year that, yes, I am a communicator. I touched on that in my first post, “I’m not a fan of social media.” I’m a dot-connector. I like to hear what people are doing, and connect them with like minds. Hopefully, one of those connections will result in people putting their heads together to make things happen.

I’m also a doer. The last post, penned on the very last day of 2009, proclaims that. And I’ve been doing a lot of doing this year. It’s been hard, but it’s been a blast. And, yet, I have little to show for it. Sure, I have a VNR, a digital magazine and some lesson plans with Discovery Education that I can point to and say, “I helped make that happen.” Then there’s that crazy webcast we did with the 8th graders from Detroit Public Schools.

But, I didn’t breathe a word about it here. Why? Because I still don’t have the stomach to put it down on virtual paper. Seems there are so many other voices out there saying exactly the same thing. I have nothing new to say on the topic. I don’t feel the need to be a trend setter. I just want to be in on the party.

I’ll not come up with groundbreaking content strategy theory. I won’t create a lesson plan that hasn’t already been done. And, no, I’m still not going to write a book on social media. (Not that anyone has asked, just seems to be the trend.)

If we reserve blogs just for the groundbreaking milestones, we’ll end up with a bunch of empty blogs, just like this one. I’m going to borrow a project management practice this year. Weekly status reports. Yup, they sure can be boring, but how else can I get in the habit of recording what’s happening with these projects? Since we are supposed to be blogging for our own purposes, why not embrace that fully, and realize that, no, people really don’t care that much what I have to say. I have to say it for me.

And, so, this is my blog. And it still sucks. Because it’s for me, not you.

Leave a Reply

